Every year the six schools that represent the Southern Area Region come together in a celebration of sport with each school taking a turn to play host. Sports such as rugby, football and basketball are played, plus some less traditional such as a quiz and frisbee golf!

The six schools in the Southern Region are:

  • Twizel
  • Roxburgh
  • Lawrence
  • Maniototo
  • The Catlins
  • Waiau

The tournament is an exciting occasion that involves both our students and members of the community who have the opportunity to host students from other schools in their own homes. Students from across the schools are then selected to go on and compete in the National Tournament with the South of the South team.

In 2022, Twizel Area School were the proud hosts of the annual tournament with 10 students selected to represent Twizel at the National Area Schools Tournament in Whangarei.

Bds 5478